Residential contractor license renewal information
Fee reductions and streamlined online renewal process among changes for 2017 business license renewal
About half of all residential building contractor and remodeler licenses expire March 31, 2017, and DLI is currently accepting license renewal applications. Instructions for renewing these licenses are provided below.
- Residential building contractor and remodeler license renewal fees have been reduced from the last renewal period
- New online business renewal process eliminates most paperwork
For completed license renewals that are received by DLI on or before March 31, 2017, renewal fees are:
- If gross annual receipts are less than $1 million, the renewal fee is $565.
- If gross annual receipts are between $1 million and $5 million, the renewal fee is $665.
- If gross annual receipts are more than $5 million, the renewal fee is $765.
- A late fee of $80 is automatically assessed when a completed renewal is not received in DLI's offices by the license expiration date.
- By law, a completed license renewal submitted by March 1 is automatically deemed to be a timely renewal.
- DLI cannot guarantee that renewals submitted after March 1 will be processed prior to the expiration date, and a license cannot be considered to be renewed until it is completely processed and approved by DLI.
- Submit renewals as early as possible to avoid delays and a possible lapse in licensure. After March 31, municipalities cannot issue building permits to contractors whose license renewals have not been processed and approved.
New online renewal process
- Our updated online renewal process allows you to renew your business license without having to submit several paper forms.
- You can now review the information DLI has on file for your company, submit any required changes, and pay the renewal fee, all online.
- A change in your business structure (i.e., going from a sole proprietorship to an LLC or corporation, or from a corporation to an LLC), will require the submission of a new license application for your new business entity.
- Renewal fees cannot be paid over the telephone.
- If DLI does not have current liability insurance information for your company, you will need to submit a current insurance certificate (PDF).
- If DLI does not have current workers’ compensation insurance information for your company, you will need to submit a current Workers’ Compensation Compliance Certificate (PDF).
- Insurance certificates can be emailed to DLI.email@example.com
- License renewals can still be submitted by mail or in person.
- Mailed or delivered renewals must include all of the forms included in this packet (PDF).
- Make sure all of the required forms are completely filled out before you mail or deliver them to DLI.
These are the required forms (PDFs):
- Residential license renewal form
- Qualifying person designation form
- Disclosure of business owners, partners, officers and members
- Certificate of compliance Minnesota Workers' Compensation Law
- Liability insurance certificate (may be DLI form or ACORD 25 form - consult an insurance agent for the appropriate insurance certificate)
- Secretary of State filing must be current - provide proof that your business filing is active. A hard-copy of the page on the Secretary of State's website showing the business filing is sufficient.
Secretary of State filing
- To renew your license, your corporate, LLC or assumed name filing with the Minnesota Secretary of State must be up-to-date.
- Your license cannot be renewed if your Secretary of State filing is inactive or expired!
- Check the status of your Secretary of State filing and update it if necessary.
- On all renewal forms, especially your bond and insurance certificates, your business name must appear EXACTLY as it is filed with the Secretary of State
- If you have changed your business structure (i.e., going from a sole proprietorship to an LLC or corporation, or from a corporation to an LLC), you will need to apply for a new license at DLI for your new business entity as well as file the new entity with the Secretary of State.
- Call us at (651) 284-5034 or send an email to DLI.firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Please Note: The Department of Labor and Industry does not accept cash as payment for licenses, inspections, copy requests and other DLI services. Accepted methods of payment include checks, money orders and electronic payments that can be made through the DLI website. Also, license fees cannot be paid over the telephone.