Skip to main content

Some licenses, registrations, and certifications require completion of continuing education (CE) before renewal. All courses eligible for use as CE credit must be approved by this agency. 

Request approval for a course

Individuals who complete a course that has not received prior approval may request approval of the course for CE credit. To request approval, submit the Continuing Education Course - Individual Application for Approval form with copies of:

  • certificate of course completion;

  • all course materials (handouts); and

  • the application fee.

Questions?

Contact us at dli.license@state.mn.us.

Look up your completed continuing education credits online

  • Search for your name or license/certification number.

  • Click on “Detail” next to your record.

  • Click on “View Details” next to the “CE Status” field.

  • Enter your license number (including two-letter prefix) and last four digits of your Social Security Number when prompted and click “Submit.”

  • The results include information about each CE course you have taken including the number of hours.

Continuing education requirements:

Plumbing

  • For master plumbers, journeyman plumbers, and licensed restricted plumbers, 16 hours of approved continuing education must be completed during each two-year license period.

  • At least 12 hours must pertain to the State Plumbing Code and at least four hours must pertain to technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, the Minnesota State Building Code or the Minnesota statutes governing plumbing work.

  • No more than four hours can be obtained online in each license period.

  • Water conditioning masters and journeyman licensees must take four hours of approved continuing education during each license period. At least two hours must pertain to technical topics related to water conditioning installation and servicing, or the Minnesota statutes and rules relating to water conditioning.

  • Medical gas certificate holders must take four hours of approved continuing education each license period beginning with their initial renewal. All four hours must pertain to the technical topics related to the installation, repair or maintenance of medical gas systems, NFPA 99, or the Minnesota laws and rules relating to medical gas systems.

Plumbing containing education
(Must be exact as shown below)

License

Code 1 Plumbing Code

Non Code

Master plumber

12 4

Restricted master plumber (PR)

12 4

Journeyman plumber (PJ)

12 4

Restricted journeyman plumber (JR)

12 4

Water conditioning master (WM)

2 2

Water conditioning journeyman (WJ)

2 2

Medical gas

4 0

Backflow

0 0

Unlicensed plumbers/water conditioning

0 0

Electrical

  • Minimum required hours focus on National Electrical Code.

  • Maximum hours for credit focus on statutes and rules governing electrical installations, Minnesota electrical licensing laws and rules, and technical topics related to electrical installations and equipment.

Electrical Continuing Education
(Can take all code)

License

Code 1

Non Code

Master electrician (AM, BM)
No CE required first year of license

12 4

Journeyman electrician (AJ, BJ)

12 4

Maintenance electrician (MN)

12 4

Lineman (LN)

0 0

Installer (Class B) (IB)

12 4

Power limited tech (PL)

4 12

Satellite installer (SI)

4  

Unlicensed electrician (RE, RT)

2 0

Elevator

  • Minimum required hours focus on National Elevator Code and National Electrical Code.

  • Maximum hours for credit focus on statutes and rules governing elevator installations; Minnesota elevator licensing laws and rules; and technical topics related to elevator installations and equipment.

Elevator Continuing Education
(Must be exact as shown below)

License

Code 2
Elevator Code

Code 1
Electrical Code

Master elevator (EM) 
No CE required first year of license

12 4

Journeyman elevator constructor (EL)

12 4

Limited master elevator constructor (LM)

6 2

Limited journeyman elevator constructor (LJ)

6 2

Registered unlicensed elevator constructor (RC)

2  

 

Residential builders (QB), remodelers (QC), roofers (QR)

  • Course content must demonstrate significant intellectual or practical content and deal with matters directly related to residential construction, workforce safety, or the business of running a company in the residential construction industry.

  • 14 hours appropriate and related knowledge in residential construction, including applicable federal and state laws, rules, and regulations.

  • Individuals can determine their personal qualifying person identification number at our License Lookup by searching their contractor's license number or their name.

  • One hour of the 14 hours must include instruction related to energy codes or energy conservation measures applicable to residential structures.

Residential Contractor Qualifying Person
(Must have 1 hour energy)

Registration

Code 1

Non Code

Qualifying builder

1 energy 13

Qualifying remodeler

1 energy 13

Qualifying roofer

1 energy 13

 

Certified building officials

  • Course content is broadly defined, but must demonstrate significant intellectual or practical content that deals with matters directly related to building code administration, construction, and building inspections - including applicable federal and state laws, rules and regulations.

  • Continuing education units/hours are accumulated during a certificate period in anticipation of being used to renew a certificate. As such, at the time of renewal, the certificate holder must have completed the required units/hours over the previous two-year certificate period.

Building Officials
(Hours can be code or non code)

License

Code 1

Non Code

Building Official (BO)

  38

Building Official Limited (LB)

  38

Accessibility (AS)

  6

Manufactured home installers

  • Licensed manufactured home installer's qualifying person (QI) is responsible for completing the continuing education hours.

  • 12 hours of appropriate and related knowledge in manufactured home construction, installation, and inspection - including federal and state laws, rules, and regulations.

  • A minimum of four hours must consist of training in the following areas:

    • HUD manufactured housing program;

    • Manufactured home installation standards and regulations established in 24 CFR 3285 and 3286, and applicable state laws and rules;

    • Construction and safety standards and regulations found in 24 CFR 3280 and 3282;

    • Licensing requirements;

    • Installer responsibilities for correcting improper installation, including obligations under the applicable state and HUD manufactured housing dispute resolution programs;

    • Inspection requirements and procedures;

    • Problem reporting mechanisms;

    • Operational checks and adjustments; and

    • Penalties under federal and state laws, rules, and regulations

  • CE hours may be completed at any time during the three-year period.

Qualifying Installer
(Must have 4 hours HUD)

 

Code 2

Non Code

Qualifying Installer

4 HUD 8